Why I’m Atheist

August 12, 2007 at 3:27 pm (Religion)

As a follow-up to my first post, I’d like to let you know why you are reading the daily life of an Atheist, as opposed to the daily life of an Agnostic.

I have recently decided to place myself in the category of Atheist, because of the confusion Agnosticism seems to spark. It seems that no matter where you are, an Agnostic is seen as a very confused and dumbfounded person, not even sure that they exist themselves, much less the gods/goddesses of the various religions. I personally think that it is much simpler to declare myself Atheist, and then, if asked about my views, I can shed light on my exact beliefs. I think that this helps in sparking conversation, and it only adds to my reasoning behind this declaration.

So there you have it. Now you know why you are reading the story of an “Atheist”. I hope this clears things up.

3 Comments

  1. AlanP said,

    I read with interest about your introspection and thought process and about how you finally got to where you are. Being atheistic in the South is tough. Takes courage when believers get angry so easily and don’t see the difference between believing in the moon landings and believing in God.

    I never was anything but an atheist (after age 7, anyway) — see blog for My Story.

  2. clina said,

    nice

  3. Milo said,

    You wouldn’t happen to live as far south as Baldwin County? Sounds like you could have attended any one of our fine public high schools here. Democrats are almost as rare as athiests but not as hated. Good luck to you.

Leave a Reply

